PDA

View Full Version : SR20 Tapping

ED600123
04-22-2017, 01:57 PM
Hey all this is my first time posting on here, i am trying to figure out this tapping i am having with my sr.

I recently installed it and just got it running and after a couple minutes of idling it started to tap really loud, i am not really sure what to check for at this point, i will include a video and if anyone could help that would be great. And i have also bleed the lifters several time now.

Video --> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oc8FahdznrA

tb13
04-23-2017, 12:42 AM
Have you made sure the rockers are shimmed properly? If one side is higher than the other, when the valve closes there will be a gap between the rocker and the shim. Once the cam lobe comes back around and hits the rocker, depressing it, that rocker smacks down onto the shim. Easy way to check is to toss a feeler gauge between all of the shims, make sure none of them have massive clearances when the valve is completely closed. If they are, check the guides for the same thing, you'll need a very narrow feeler gauge to check the guides though.

Kingtal0n
04-23-2017, 10:26 AM
I would check oil pressure,
make sure oil is flowing from all 16 holes above the cam lobes,
make sure you have guides to the left, shims to the right, when looking at the engine from the side of the car, on that side of the engine.

how are you bleeding the lifters? normally, place them in a cup of oil, submerge completely, and push the center plunger down several times using a thin stiff pin/wire. then, be sure you do not set them on their side, lifter must remain upright.

try unplugging each coil, one at a time, to make sure the noise is not isolated to a cylinder (that would be bad news).

do a compression test, any abnormality you should inspect that cylinder