PDA

View Full Version : ignitor chip testing?

chazten
03-27-2014, 02:27 PM
i looked around some and couldnt find a definitive test to check if an ignitor chip is working. So i just dove in with logic and a multimeter. So when the car is on i touch the multi meter to any one of the four pins coming from the ecu, all four have 11.5-12v of power. Then i plugged my q45 ignitor chip into that and touched the pins coming from the chip to the coilpacks. All read .01 Im no mechanic but im going to assume this definitely means its the ignitor chip.
The only reason im hesitant to assume is because 3 weeks ago i left a light on over night and it drained my battery down. When we went to jump it off it wasnt getting spark to coilpacks and the reason was in the ecu, something had shorted, we soldered it and all was well. now It has started and ran since then until i swapped out my old nasty engine harness for a nice clean new one with q45 plugs. So either its the chip, or the soldering job on the ecu has shorted out once again. What do you guys think?

chazten
03-27-2014, 02:29 PM
Also the the two q45 chips were found at a junkyard, so its very likely there to old/corroded/dirty to function but its weird that both arent working.

OnTheChip
03-27-2014, 02:59 PM
The coilpack pins are switched to ground so they won't read any voltage unless plugged into the coils and the coils are powered.

chazten
03-27-2014, 04:51 PM
The coilpack pins are switched to ground so they won't read any voltage unless plugged into the coils and the coils are powered.

What? I think you misunderstood me, Why would I be touching the coil pack plug? I meant after checking the plug that goes in the ignitor chip I tested the pins on the other side of the ignitor chip once I plugged it in.does that make anymore sense? I need pictures I'll take some tomorrow if this isn't resolved

chazten
03-27-2014, 04:54 PM