PDA

View Full Version : ka24det maf and running lean problem

bonomo
04-30-2009, 06:45 PM
ok lets see my car just started running lean and studering . i got my ecu checked its fine and i checked my maf and its reads .40v with ignition on but it drops to like .20v. when the car idols it is 1.28v . is hat mean the maf is bad? or wat else could it be .

xKennie
05-01-2009, 01:14 AM
is your car still runnin lean? i am not an expert but i iwll share with you what i just went through and maybe it can help.

i just finished my ka-t build and it is basically a full stock rebuild of a kade and i got a top mount turbo kit from a local store. At first for me it ran ok but after an hour or so i noticed that it was running right and it was starting to overheat and get hot. On top of that there was a pinging sound and a sound of marbles rollin around when boost kicked in.

I talked to a shop and they said that it was a fuel problem since i was runnin stock injectors and i didnt have the money at the time to get a set of 370cc. This is when i asked my friend if i can borrow is Fuel Management Unit with a 12:1 ratio. It was brand new and he said i can just have it so i installed it on my car and it ran alot better and seemed to solve the problem.

A couple days went by and i noticed that it started to run a bit weird and the sounds were comming back. I talked to several different shops and techs and they said i should just upgrade my injectors and perhaps get a chip for my ecu or get a tuned ecu. I sold some stuff and ended up doing what they said and purchased 370cc injectors and a chip that was programed for a ka-t with 370cc injectors, stock MAF, and only 7 pounds of boost. Now my car is running really really well and havent experienced any problems yet.