PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about moving to Portland.

ZenkiKid
11-17-2014, 07:57 AM
Lets face it. California taxes up the ass and at this point with the rise of cost of living you pretty much need to clear 6 figures to live comfortably here.

Without disclosing anything too personal; I have a bachelors degree and I work a white collar job for the local government and I cant even afford to move out of my parents house. (Thats how high rent has gotten) How sad is that? I cant do this because of how much income tax bites me in the ass every paycheck. I mean i could pull it off but I would be literally scraping by each month. Im not about to pick up a second job just to stay afloat.

Gotta work to live not live to work.

I just came back from a 4 day trip up there and I LOVE the area and the friendliness of the people.

The thing I loved the most is that its pro-small business and very blue collar.

Any advice on those who live in Portland can share? What areas to look into? Hows the job market?

Wykydtron
11-17-2014, 03:01 PM
I'm not from the area but if you end up near Portland... PARC is effing amazing... and if you want to do some drag or road racing PIR is an awesome track...

angel mkiv
11-17-2014, 05:00 PM
Ever consider Seattle instead?
http://zilvia.net/f/showthread.php?t=569533
Some good reasons in this thread why..

ZenkiKid
11-18-2014, 10:25 AM
I think I would prefer Portland because I hear that Seattle is pretty fast paced.

Is the "seattle freeze" true? I also heard that it applies to everywhere in the PNW.

I mean whenever I travel I do my best to not stick out like a sore thumb. I also am very polite and respectful.

Wykydtron
11-18-2014, 12:42 PM
I think I would prefer Portland because I hear that Seattle is pretty fast paced.

Is the "seattle freeze" true? I also heard that it applies to everywhere in the PNW.

I mean whenever I travel I do my best to not stick out like a sore thumb. I also am very polite and respectful.