PDA

View Full Version : starting my credit?

s13gonwild
03-14-2005, 03:27 AM
so how did you guys start building it up? Im really new to actually knowing how important it is so just want to see what you guys did and if it worked out good... so if you guys could help me out a lil hehe

thanks

ALTRNTV
03-14-2005, 03:37 AM
You could do it a number of ways.

-get a gasoline gas card and use it once or twice a month for like a 3 month span and pay the minimum each month

This is how I built my credit
-just apply for a credit card online and make small purchases (try to find one with a low APR rate), and pay just a little more than the minimum payment

MakotoS13
03-14-2005, 06:45 AM
its easier than that. take out a small loan and pay it off the next day. then get a bigger loan. then a credit card.

we all have credit... keeping it perfect is a whole other story entirely.

mjjstang
03-14-2005, 07:20 AM
me, I got a college card when I was 18, the first month I put a clutch and other shit on it, realized how easy it is to get in debt, good thing 1000 is my limit, but its down im putting about 200 a month on it, and payin 300, so yah dont get in debt, its stupid, use it for online purchases (small ones) gas, and those late night trips to white castle.

SilviaNinja240
03-14-2005, 07:28 AM
A good way to build up your credit, if you never had any, is to first get a card, then 2ndly only buy things you can afford. (i.e. make payments in full), then after a while of buying stuff apply for a card with a lower interest rate.

chrispy
03-14-2005, 09:26 AM
I started off with a student card from my bank.

Initially, if you do not have any credit history, expect to have a low credit limit and a high apr. Only buy what you can afford and remember to always pay on time! Once you've established a good history with the credit company, you can call for a credit limit increase and to renegotiate your apr.

madwilly240
03-14-2005, 02:30 PM
BAD IDEA! for me it was at least, haha.