PDA

View Full Version : 240 concerns

bshotts
12-28-2004, 01:14 PM
I'm new to the zilvia board but I heard it's a good place to go for 240 info.........anyway, I had my Redtop installed in my '96 this summer and have some major concerns to this date:

1)Engine is running extremely rich (i.e. 11-15 mpg) and fumes are killer as well as black exhaust builds up fairly quickly in the exhaust and rear fascia

2)Engine stalls sometimes and idles rough after an extended period of driving, also backfires frequently

3)Speedometer recently stopped working as well as the odometer...where is the speed sensor located?

4)Recently installed Autometer boost gauge....have a good boost reading (9 psi peak, 7 psi hold stock boost), but no vacuum reading? Did I tap the wrong pressure line?

5)Recently noticed after running it to near redline, engine wants to run rough (i.e. sounds like a WRX boxer engine and noticed some white smoke come out of the exhaust, but no smoke when driven regularly)

6)Breather filter off of the valve cover sprays oil onto the exhaust manifold when driven hard Shoud I do away with the breather filter?

Mod list:
Redtop SR20DET
S15 T-28
NISMO motor/tranny mounts
Exedy Stage II clutch
MSL Aluminum Radiator
Electric fan
Custom intake
MSL hotpipe
Stock S13 SMIC
Larger camshafts
HKS spark plugs
Walbro 255
Blitz 3" SS DP
MSL 3" test pipe
APEX'I 3" N 1 single

I do have an APEX'I SAFC II waiting to be installed and tuned.....how much would this help?

Sorry so long, but I appreciate any advice!!

mistaanime
12-28-2004, 01:28 PM
hmm fuel injectors?

i-love-my-s14
12-28-2004, 01:29 PM
I have some friends with hondas and they have that little breather filter on the valve cover, and all that thing does is cause problems, if i were you i would do away with that first. also try to adjust your timing to solve the running rich problem, and the back fires are normal when you have 3inch exhaust all the way back.

pablo180
12-28-2004, 01:57 PM