View Full Version : s13 fuel pump kill switch as a solution?

regnaleb
11-06-2015, 03:05 PM
Okay folks just wondering if anyone can raise any flags for the solution to my problem

-My fuel pump doesnt turn on when the key is on the "ON" position

-I start my car by connecting the two closest prongs on the egi relay which turns on the pump

Now is it okay for me to extend those two prongs/wires all the way to the drivers seat and throwing a switch at the end to connect the two wires which turns on the pump? this will also act as a kill switch for the pump. Is there anything wrong with this? im not a wiring expert at all... thanks guys/gals

Gingersmurf
11-06-2015, 03:18 PM
If you plan on racing your car most series will demand that you have a fuel pump kill switch linked to your master power kill switch. This way if you roll your car or whatever, when the switch is flipped off, the pump wont keep pouring fuel all over the place. Much safer this way than having two switches

regnaleb
11-06-2015, 03:20 PM
i dont plan on racing it, just driving. Is this a safe solution?

Gingersmurf
11-06-2015, 03:26 PM
Maybe wait for others to chime in too, but i personally feel having them linked together is a good idea. Then you cant forget to turn it off if you roll up to timmies and grab a coffee

derass
11-06-2015, 04:28 PM
No, this is a bad idea. You should fix the cause of the problem. This solution will hack up the existing wiring and leave you with a fire hazard. You say you are not a wiring expert, perhaps you should have a technician or at least someone who knows what they're doing fix the problem.

regnaleb
11-06-2015, 04:31 PM
No, this is a bad idea. You should fix the cause of the problem. This solution will hack up the existing wiring and leave you with a fire hazard. You say you are not a wiring expert, perhaps you should have a technician or at least someone who knows what they're doing fix the problem.