PDA

View Full Version : Home Owners Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

Corbic
06-28-2014, 02:37 PM
I own a home. I paid under 6 figures for it and it gets the job done. I've been working professionally for 8 years now and I make good money.

Now I'm in Detroit and I'm chilling at the hotel. I turn on HGTV (I don't have cable at home) and I was hoping to catch a cool DIY project. However the channel is a never ending loop of young couples crying about not getting granite countertops and picking between a house that is $670,000 which is $70k over budget or the "fixer upper" for $500k and putting another 120k into it.

WHAT THE FUCK DO THESE PEOPLE DO FOR A LIVING?!?!

Thats what the show should be on!

Who pays enough that you can hack $3-5k a month for JUST A MORTGAGE!

WanganRunner
06-28-2014, 04:22 PM
IDK around here, and in my field (commercial real estate), it's not uncommon for people to get $65-75k fresh out of undergrad. Throw a few years of raises onto that, then multiply it by two for a couple, and you can buy a fair amount of house.

That said, in this market (DC), a $500k house isn't much of a house.

Phlip
06-28-2014, 08:16 PM
I bought my house in 2009 while making a considerable amount less than I make right now. I watch these shows and get a little depressed with how they treat shit like marble floors and granite countertops like people like I do with starting a garden or making a table from $50 of repurposed materials.
Yeah, I hate those bitches.

$500k in NC is a 5000+ ft² mini mansion on a golf course.

redline racer510
06-28-2014, 09:06 PM
$350k here in the bay area gets you a 3 bed 2 bath house approx. 1600sq/ft and a small backyard. Yea in SF you need to be making atleast $150k a year to buy a "nice" house.(I understand that is subjective). Rent in downtown SF averages between $2500 and $5k a month for something not roach infested and free of mold. You people on the east coast got it good in terms of housing.

DreamN
06-28-2014, 09:16 PM