PDA

View Full Version : Any professional welders/fabricators in here?

spooled240
02-27-2014, 01:23 PM
I'm strongly contemplating a career change due to the fact that I kinda hate where I'm at right now. I graduated in '12 with a business and marketing degree and it's simply not for me. I an online marketer that works 40+ hours a week on my ass behind a computer screen that occasionally deals with angry clients and unrealistic goals. There are some positives to this field and I have learned a lot, but its simply not my cup of tea.

I'm 25, unmarried and I don't have any kids(thank God)so now is the time to really make sure I'm set up for what I really enjoy. Welding has been something that's been in the back of my mind since I've always had a strong passion/obsession for cars, mechanics and fabrication.

There are some local schools out there for welding, but I wanted to get some advice from some people in the industry on how and where to start before I make any moves.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

aymaeid
02-27-2014, 01:33 PM
in for the advice

S14kouki_10
02-27-2014, 03:34 PM
Not a professional welder, but i did take some courses on welding back in high school. To get certified you just take a test. Then idk what you'll do with that certificate, i guess look for a job and work for someone else.
Is being certified make you a "professional welder"?
Maybe start by buying a welder and just start welding stuff.

ManoNegra
02-27-2014, 05:43 PM
Look to get into an apprenticeship with an established fabricator.
Pay will suck and it'll be grunt work.
Do it for a few years to gain experience,
start doing jobs out of your garage for free and/or cheap to build a name
once you have a reputation and are getting busy start thinking about opening your own shop
that's how the few fabricators I've known did it

ultimateforce
02-28-2014, 05:25 AM
Certified TIG welder chiming in: