PDA

View Full Version : BeatLights: Sound to Light Techies, edm heads inside!

worangejuice
05-23-2013, 12:38 AM
Help kickstart this cool project my little brother is going for. It's supe simple project, and in there lies the beauty of it! Just cool plug and go stuff!
BeatLights: Sound to Light by Gian Lazzarini — Kickstarter (http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/gianlazzarini/beatlights-sound-to-light)

Take music from your headphone jack and bring beats to light!

My Story:

I'm an inventor and college student from Washington. I've always been fascinated by synesthesia(the phenomina where people visualize sound). There've been many situations in my life where I've been working on projects, attending parties or just relaxing in my room listening to music and I would imagine that the lights around me would synchronize with the music I'm listening to. This led me to build the BeatLights: Sound to Light Driver.

BeatLights: Sound to Light

This device immerses you into a futuristic visual experience by synchronizing your music to the lights around you, breaking the barrier between your senses; technological synesthesia.
https://s3.amazonaws.com/ksr/assets/000/497/814/9dd2611b814c04986a132445e888e611_large.png?1365307 761

How does it work?

To use the Sound to Light Driver, all you have to do is plug in the light, power supply and then connect the headphone cable to your headphone jack with a headphone splitter. Then just plug in your speakers to the remaining jack, turn your music up and bump some tunes.

This device can drive a DC light up to 60 volts to music from your headphone jack. It will take the beats and use it to control the brightness of the light.

In the photos and video depicted here I use a Cold Cathode light from a custom computer with a 12 volt power supply.
https://s3.amazonaws.com/ksr/assets/000/497/836/dbf1a9f79e50864fe1640b7f0d3b52bc_large.jpg?1365310 183
WRw8BCd_mcw
Current Short Comings: