PDA

View Full Version : S14 Sr20det runs like shit, ecu talk readings please help

QuickSpoolSR
04-02-2013, 05:15 PM
I picked up an s14 sr20det from some kid, and i dont exactly know what he had going on lol. Its an s14 sr20det with a stock ecu/injectors, it runs kinda shitty, low power, stumbles and sometimes stalls out. I Got the consult port hooked up and ecutalk working, below are the readings of my car warmed up at idle. I wouldnt say im a noob but I could use advice on where to start. I see the timing is at 37btdc doesnt that mean its super advanced?

Like i said... sorry for being such a noob.

http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu268/johnw14151/image_zps30cdca4b.jpg

QuickSpoolSR
04-02-2013, 05:17 PM
also to add, it smells like fuel sometimes (maybe running rich) the kid said he had the head rebuilt, maybe the cams are put in wrong...

2.5T_/<ouki
04-02-2013, 05:29 PM
Were you not there to look over the car before you bought it lol? Did you not inspect it thoroughly? Seems like you weren't LOL!

Have you done a compression test? Have you checked to see if any fuel is leaking from the fuel lines? Have you checked to see if Injectors are leaking? Have you checked for a boost leak?

Whoa?! Looking at the water temp, it seems as tho the car is warmed up to operating temperatures. If it's not, try retaking a screen shot of when it is warmed up.

Anyways, your TPS voltage looks extremely wrong (if it's in fact idling), should read .45v not .84 (It should read .45v @ idle and 4.5v @ WOT). Your RPM's are extremely high, i would look over at your IACV and make sure it's adjust properly. Also, your timing should be 15* at idle not 37* (It could be 37* because your base idle and tps are not set properly.) I would look at the FSM for sr20 and set the base idle, tps, and timing accordingly.

ultimateirving
04-02-2013, 05:29 PM
also to add, it smells like fuel sometimes (maybe running rich) the kid said he had the head rebuilt, maybe the cams are put in wrong...