PDA

View Full Version : Welders: Help me!!!

StryfeS13
09-16-2011, 11:52 PM
I just got a welder so I can learn how to fabricate and etc, it's a Hobart 125 gasless mig. Yeah yeah I know, it doesn't run on gas. But I'm a beginner and didnt wanna spend more than $500.

Anyway, that's besides the point. I'm having an issue with my auto-darkening helmet. It's a miller helmet, and the side of the helmet has a dial (9,11,13,etc), and inside the helmet there is a delay, and sensitivity setting.

My issue is that I can't see the puddle, all I see is the light. It's not like it's too bright, it's just that the flare of the light is blocking the puddle so I can't see it...is there any way to set this so I can see my puddle, like at the start of this video?

Mig Welding Lesson - Watch Your Stickout and Ground - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJhRI4fyyF0)

atutt
09-17-2011, 05:56 AM
What is the helmet set at?

Otto347
09-17-2011, 09:38 AM
^^Sounds like the helmet isnt even on. With mine on 9 I can still see the puddle. Im not blinded by the arc.

atutt
09-17-2011, 10:13 AM
He's also working with gasless flux core. Flux core has a really bright arc to begin with.
So that probably isn't helping him.

Turn your helmet all the way up to it's darkest setting. IE 13. And work your way down. Unless you have a faulty lens, you should find a comfortable setting where you can everything.

Or buy your self a $0 Jackson fixed shade helmet with a 4.5'' x.5.25'' viewing area. And a #10 shade gold lens..... Best money I have ever spent on welding equipment. I doubt I'll ever go back to an auto darkening helmet (I'd rock any Jackson auto darken mind you). Especially those Miller pieces of shit. Never buy one.

***Edit...

Just read that you bought a Miller... I'm sorry to hear that :(

Otto347
09-17-2011, 10:39 AM