PDA

View Full Version : Decided to major in Computer Information Systems...

1ZlowZ
08-18-2011, 01:08 AM
Now its something I've wanted to try and learn and stuff, but is there a job market for it?

Gnnr
08-18-2011, 02:46 AM
Yeah, just dont get into any tech support desk job garbage. Get into higher level things.

SimpleS14
08-18-2011, 04:33 AM
Yes, but it's recommend you do an internship while you're still in school. Out of the gate, you can probably get into consulting (think Big 4). You might not get paid much, but you'll learn a lot in a short period of time if you apply yourself.

biggie
08-18-2011, 07:38 AM
What I majored in. Was doing mainframe programming out of college, but have been doing reporting/analyst work for a hospital for the last 4 years and think it worked out well.

juicyjay
08-18-2011, 07:51 AM
What I majored in. Was doing mainframe programming out of college, but have been doing reporting/analyst work for a hospital for the last 4 years and think it worked out well.

whats the pay like

1ZlowZ
08-19-2011, 10:33 PM
Wondering that too, whats the pay like in this field. I know it varies from job to job.

silverarrow27
08-19-2011, 10:43 PM
Entry level can start you off around $25k a year and depending where you go up in the Chain and which company, look at six figures a year and not doing jack besides browse the web all day with a stable infrastructure. I think you made a good decision because the job market in the computer field is just going to grow!

1ZlowZ
08-19-2011, 10:44 PM
Also, what certificates would be good to get.

Right now I'm doing netware certificate and Database Administration Cert.

the a3k
08-19-2011, 11:08 PM
thats the major i switched to as well. right now im working at a retail store doing tech work like repairs and such but that place is the devil.

most jobs require a degree so hopefully it'll land me at a nice position in the near future.

gt-r time? yep

Gnnr
08-20-2011, 11:41 AM