PDA

View Full Version : need some info on a good 4 lug break set up

eliminator024
05-02-2011, 09:26 PM
hi i have a 1990 nissan 240 4 lug
the break system is stock now i just wanted to know a good setup because im going to be doing mountain runs.
so should i do a caliper upgrade?
and should i get drilled and slotted roters? have read that there no good.
this car is also my daily driver, and i do not want to do a 5 lug conversion yet

snafupossum
05-02-2011, 09:30 PM
its brakes not breaks

desertKAdrifter
05-02-2011, 10:03 PM
im no expert but what i have in my car is a 300zx brake system complete with rotors, calipers, and bmc and i added some steel braided lines. I bought the set already four lugged, i think the seller said that all he had to do was get them drilled for four lugs. but im telling you its about twice as much stopping power from stock and they stay cool longer, avoiding fading.

ShimiBoi
05-04-2011, 02:40 AM
I wouldn't suggest carving the canyons too hard. But the z32 set up is a great way tui go if you have the funds.another option is to go with a q45 set up which is cheaper but you would still have to get them drilled for 4 lug. Good luck!

DM Sims
05-04-2011, 06:41 PM
300zx aluminum calipers, slotted rotors (they help), 300zx brake master cylinder, steel braided lines.

PDM sells 4lug rotors for 300zx caliper swaps as well as the BMC and steel braided lines. Q45 is cheaper but the 300zx BMC isn't a required upgrade in the 300 option but improves braking significantly.

eliminator024
05-06-2011, 06:20 PM
Ok so the 300zx brakes seem to be the way to go I thought you had to do a five lug conversion for that lol
so what ill need is calipers, rotors, breaks, a 300 bmc, and that's it?
well I need a 300zx brake boster too?
thanks for the help
oh and I've also seen on lots of cars sloted in the front and normal in the back why is that?

desertKAdrifter
05-06-2011, 06:57 PM