PDA

View Full Version : Nuclear info for people tired of the ignorant Media

Lees_Garage
03-18-2011, 02:24 AM
Came across this article. It is a quite lengthy article, but is very informative and I thought it might be helpful. This was written by Brett Edward LaVigne

Nuclear info for people tired of the ignorant Media

by Brett Edward LaVigne on Thursday, March 17, 2011 at 7:05pm

For those who don't know me, or don't know what I do for a living. I am an ANSI qualified Radiation Protection Technician. I have worked in the nuclear field for more than 21 years, mostly commercial nuclear plants. I would like to share some information from a nuclear professional standpoint.

With all of the chaos in Japan, and all of the poor reporting on CNN, FOX or pretty much any other news outlet concerning the nuclear part of the disaster, I feel compelled to help. Help those of my friends that do not work in the nuclear industry understand what to be worried about and not. I want to write about the worst accident there has ever been in our industry and how it impacted the surrounding communities immediately after the accident and years after, Chernobyl. There are a few facts throughout the following that are important to note as a comparison between our plants and their plants, I'll point them out. Also I would like to briefly talk about the accident that happened in Pennsylvania, where we had similar type events happen as the one in Japan (ie. Loss of coolant, melted fuel, hydrogen explosion).