PDA

View Full Version : Anybody else quit smoking...

Eyescream
09-08-2003, 08:42 PM
...only to realize that you can't concentrate anymore?

I've been not smoking (up until 1 cigarette this past weekend) since June. Did the patches, got a script for Wellbutrin and started taking it to calm me down. Everything.

School started back up a couple weeks ago, and since then I've been at a pretty much complete loss as far as my creative drive goes. I'm a graphic design student, but when i sit to do any kind of brainstorming or sketching or work in the software, it's like I get some sort of writer's block. I just can't concentrate anymore. My mind starts wandering and I start goofing off, reading email, etc; basically doing anything it can not to put work into the task at hand.

I quit smoking and started working out and lost like 30 pounds and I feel healthier now; but I can't afford to fail another class, I'll lose my grants.

Anybody else ever been in this situation?

SilviaDriver
09-08-2003, 08:58 PM
cant say i have personally. but i always hear stories from my friends. if he doestn smoke he cant sleep and cant concentrate.

jojothemonkey
09-10-2003, 07:45 PM
I am trying to quit smoking right now. I smoke to dang much and my chest hurts in the morning. It just the price of those patchs that kills me. I have tried to quit several times before but have been unsusecful. (how ever you spell the word)Finaly bought the patch on mon. I should have bought the 21mg patch cause I am still iritable. But hopefully I will be able to quit this time. How do the pills work? Mabey that is what I should try. As for my concentration it comes and goes.

Bill Roberts
09-11-2003, 08:58 AM
...One of my co workers got hypmotized. It worked for him.

What happenes when you stop smoking is you lose the ability to relax. It is mind over matter. You have to condition yourself when you get the urge to just let go...put your mind at ease and the urges dissapate.

Easier said than done.