PDA

View Full Version : What a Day! (Long and Venting/Shitting a Brick)

Pacman
03-22-2010, 10:46 PM
It all started off good, met with my friend and continued our conversation of getting a place together, went to CSK and picked up my 30mm calipers (traded my crapped out 26mm) and came home.

All was good until the ride home.

I've been driving my moms '98 Prelude. I had knee surgery last Wednesday so I can't drive my car yet, too much on my knee. The car is the SS (sequential shift) automatic so I can drive it no problem. Its a great car and fun to drive for being stock and looks good (has the rare and discontinued HFP lip kit) so I don't really mind it.

Well, she moved to Florida last month and trusted me with the car (I'm a technician so she trusts me with her baby) until it gets shipped out there. I'm the only one driving it (parents split and doesn't want my dad driving it; brothers a bad driver). I was getting the last little things fixed on it (sway bar bushings, shifter light, etc.) and all is good with it now, until today...

On my way home coming from CSK, I was stopped on a hill waiting for the light. It turned green and I pressed the gas and the engine revved, car rolled back and car jerked forward. Odd, so I watched the tach. Kept driving and switched into SS mode. I went through the gears and all felt ok. I stopped at the stop sign and sure as shit, engine revved and jerked forward. I was about a mile home, at another stop sign, pressed the gas lightly, 2500rpm jerked into gear and scretched the tires.

I went on and off the throttle rapidly and watched the engine rev and no acceleration. I got it home ok. Each time from stop to accel, tires scretched, jerked into gear and moved forward; feels like it has a shift kit. I know the SS autos are crap and since its a '98, it has the high stall T/C and inferior bearings/clutch packs.