PDA

View Full Version : Legal questions.................crooked bosses

worangejuice
02-02-2010, 01:33 AM
Hi,
As stated I am a Caricature artist. I'll summarize it.
We work for a private owner at a theme park.
We are paid hourly (minimum wage) if slow. Or 30% commission on our sales if we break $300 for the day.
During the Winter holidays we all (12 employees) made a buttload of money for the company. About $400-$700 a day each.
Our paychecks from the holiday time were pretty big. We felt we were underpaid, but just assumed it was cause of taxes, and carried on.
There was also a delay with these holiday checks. The reason being there where 'tax errors' on the checks and they had to fix them (this being told to us the day we went to pick up our checks). So we got the checks 2 days later.
Fast forward 2 weeks, we get our latest check with a lengthy letter in tow. The letter states that money was deducted from our latest checks as a result of overpay from the last holiday check. WTF!
We were not given any warning in advance.
We've put up with a lot from our boss, but this may be the final straw.
This totally goes into legalities and a whole other mess.
:down::faint::sadwavey:
So what can we do Zilvia!?!?!?, what can we do as lowly artists, in a tough economy to stick it to our shady bosses. Legally or any other suggestions....
thanks guys

SochBAT
02-02-2010, 01:46 AM
Lawyer.

Research labor laws specific to commission. If you've got your contract/commission payout breakdown on hand, use it.