PDA

View Full Version : Doors not aligning help please

newslidz
08-14-2009, 08:04 PM
OK im new to the nissan game but have aligned many doors and this one is at the latch were the problem seems to be coming from. Now on both sides driver and passenger there is about _____ that much gap on both sides like when a door is shut to the first point but not sealed at the second but it is on the second. do the latches go bad? I took the rear inside panels out to look to see if i could just realign it but its got tabs in their please fill me in on your tips im sure out of all these dam 240s I can not be the only one... :ughug:

WILL POST PICS TOMORROW WHEN ITS LIGHT OUT DUE TO CRAPPY CAMERA.

projectRDM
08-14-2009, 11:02 PM
The striker is adjustable to a point. Try moving it in as far as you can. The latch may wear out but it wouldn't allow a gap like that, it just wouldn't catch or would stick when opened.

g6civcx
08-14-2009, 11:30 PM
have aligned many doors

If you have body experience you should know how to adjust a door.

The two door latches can be adjusted up/down and left/right. Adjust the position with the door holder/adjustment tool that body shops have to support the weight of the door. Line the door up with the body panels as much as you can.

The other adjustment is the striker. The striker can be adjusted up/down and in/out to make the door sit flushed with the rear quarter.

That's it. If you can't adjust the door then either you don't know what you're doing, or there is dody damage that you can't fix beyond the factory adjustments.

newslidz
08-15-2009, 12:58 PM
ok after looking at sombody elses 240 i believe my strikers were replaced with some from another nissan. This could also explain why the gaps are the same on both sides because nobody would move them out of alignment for no reason. thanks for that advice but i guess ill just have to hit up the junk yards and see what i come across.

THIS IS WHAT BOTH SIDES LOOK LIKE