PDA

View Full Version : going back to school

jilo
06-27-2009, 02:20 PM
ive been thinking alot lately about going back to college for mechanical engineering. i graduated wyotech in pa back in 04 with an associates in automotives (duh) and one in business management.
now i do have to say i really do enjoy cars at heart but the owners/operators/customers are what just fucking ruin it for me. i am a very honest person and i belive that the best way to make money in a business is to be honest and gain trust. it may take a bit longer but it lasts longer also. with that said, almost all the automotive jobs ive had have been basically run by theives and asswipes. the type of people thatmake me want to be poor rather than work for them. im 27 now and am really feeling the need for a job i can have for the next ten-twenty years. i want all the big shit in life house, beautiful yard, kids, all that stuff. but it cant be attained at a job that i cant agree with. although i havent worked at an aftermarket shop, i have had the notion that it would be a better place for me. i like to make things better, more than i enjoy fixing broken american crap.
friends of mine that are currently going to school keep cnvincing me to go back and just get more loans. im scared by more debt because i basically dont have any and i dont want to limit myself by having more.

so basically i know theres a bunch of engineers here of people in school for it , and i really want some advice. would it be worth all the additional debt? is it really an enjoyable field and how are the opportunity's for job placement? and why the fuck not, what kind of work do you do and do you think you could do it for the next 20 years?

please excuse the long ass paragraph, ive got bronchitis and im killing it off with wray and nephew. trust, it works.

duffman1278
06-27-2009, 02:27 PM