PDA

View Full Version : Painting my car MYSELF :) Need advice..LOTS OF IT!!

CalPolyKing
04-22-2009, 03:53 PM
Ok, so I'm picking up my compressor tonight for the soul purpose of painting my car. Its a 6hp 30 gallon Craftsman Compressor which runs at 8.6 scfm @ 40psi, and Im using my new craftsman HVLP spray gun which requires minimum 7 scfm @ 40psi, so Im good to go with the equipment.

Im new to this so any help would be great.

This is what i want to buy, so far. (keep in mind this is for my coupe s13)

-PPG Black Metallic Acrylic Enamel Auto Paint( No clear coat needed)
eBay Motors: PPG Black Metallic Acrylic Enamel Automotive Paint (item 380119090632 end time Apr-28-09 05:55:38 PDT) (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/PPG-Black-Metallic-Acrylic-Enamel-Automotive-Paint_W0QQitemZ380119090632QQcmdZViewItemQQptZMoto rs_Automotive_Tools?hash=item380119090632&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=72%3A1171%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A131 8)

I know I need a reducer, can anyone recommend a low price good quality one, I could possibly pick up at a store, or just a brand name would be good.

Im also looking for a sealer so I dont put the paint on different surfaces, but I also dont know of a good sealer. Any recommendations?

Other than that, I plan on doing the paint job sometime this weekend, or whenever I have a chance in my garage. Also, if anyone knows where I could get plastic sheets to cover my garage up that could be great, I dont want to make a mess. I already figured out all the ventilation, so im good to go with that.
ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED OTHER THAN, "YOUR BETTER OFF TAKING IT TO A PRO"...lol

SochBAT
04-22-2009, 03:58 PM
Howdy man!

For covering shit, just get huge tarps at homedepot/lowes. holes/vents for the fans, and you're set.

I'll ask my buddy what chems he uses. Prep work material?

ANVIL
04-22-2009, 05:01 PM
get a bigger compressor. its gonna suck spraying like 4 or 5 passes with the gun and then having to wait for it to compress air again.

BustedS13