PDA

View Full Version : Brake pedal low after changing Rear Pads

jsxr14s
03-29-2009, 10:54 AM
I just changed my rear brake pads last night.
Now when i depress on the brake pedal, it goes too far down.
After depressing it several times it becomes firmer as i do so.
My initial thought was that air got into the brake lines. I thought this because when i reset the caliper piston i left the master cylinder open, but i read instructions to do so. so i did. i did not drain or bleed the fluid after so this was my conclusion. And the master cylinder is still full.
But this morning i asked the guy from the auto shop that neighbors my house, and they're telling me it's the brake booster.
I have my doubts about their diagnosis because the brake pedal was not depressing too low before i changed the pads. I am capable though of having messed up the entire procedure.
I can be wrong too. I am a NEWB. I just have my reservations against this auto shop i guess.
So i come here because there are a lot of helpful and knowledgeable folks here. And i respect this community. so please help!

n240sxfnatic
03-29-2009, 11:27 AM
Re-bleed everything

rhd180
03-29-2009, 12:25 PM
does the brake pedal stay firm after not doing anything after an hour? or does it go soft again and have to get pumped up? if it stays firm then all it was is the pistons in the calipers reseting for the new brake pads. if it goes soft after a while and needs to be pumped up, then you have air in the lines and needs to be bled out.

Sileighty_85
03-29-2009, 04:29 PM
Bad Brake Booster= Stiff ass brake pedal
your neighboring mechainc fails.

As stated bleed lines
Master cylinder might be goin bad
is your Master cylinder leaking where it connects to the brake booster?
You'll be able to tell from where the paint is stripped and it rusting below it

g6civcx
03-29-2009, 05:45 PM