PDA

View Full Version : Timing-need Help Asap-dallas Ppl Plz!!!

Sil80girlie
03-12-2003, 08:51 AM
Ok, I have an s13 SR....I really wanna get this timing done tonight if possible. Can someone PLEEEEEEASE help me!?!? If no one is available to come over, can someone who has done this (on an SR) at least walk me through the process, step by step, in GREAT DETAIL. Everything I read says something different. Do I need to remove the valve cover or not??? I have never done this before!! PLEASE HELP!!!

On a side note-I have a short vid of my folding mirrors on my website :)

Sil80girlie
03-13-2003, 02:33 PM
Ok, I got some help from someone last night who tried to explain everything to me. He was showing me where everything is on his engine...but he has an rx7:(. Honestly, I am still quite lost on this whole timing thing. I guess I just still don't know enough details about engines yet. Anyway, about these marks I am supposed to look for....why do i not see them?? I keep looking at the pictures on srswap.com, but I don't know what the heck I am supposed to be looking at!! Do you loosen the bolts that hold the crank angle sensor on....is that what you are supposed to turn??? I'm so lost...and frustrated :mad:

I don't even know if the timing is off. It appears as though it's where it's supposed to be at (?). What are some ways that I would be able to tell for sure that something might be wrong...besides going through rigorous testing? And where the heck can I find some better info on how and why all of this works so I can know what the crap I am doing?!?

Thank ya]

BTW - I've been reading on howstuffworks.com.
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/ignition-system.htm
Does the CAS directly replace the distributor? Does this info also apply to the way the sr works...?

Dousan_PG
03-13-2003, 02:43 PM
i thought the replies on Freshalloy were pretty darn good. didnt work?

Sil80girlie
03-14-2003, 08:57 AM