PDA

View Full Version : advise please

japslapsilvia
02-18-2009, 11:25 AM
i dont know how i always end up in this shit but i do.

Ok so i graduated college December 06.

Well the other day i get a letter stating that my account is past due. i paid all of my tuition when attending school, and at some point in 07 i actually got a refund check for over paid dues. (small amount)

So im thinking its a mistake, so i call the school and apparently i have been getting parking tickets. So the lady in the Bursurs office directs me to the campus police. They inform me that i have been getting tickets in 07 and 08, so i explain to the guy that i havent been on campus since 06 when i graduated. so he asked me what i did with my parking sticker. i was like hell i dont know that was like 3 years ago. so he states the account is in collections and i need to deal with the bursurs office.

My question is how is the best way to handle this. I did not get those tickets and im not going to pay for this. how can they put my account in a "collection status" with out notifying me sooner?

oh btw its over $400.00.

please help

THANKS!!

ANVIL
02-18-2009, 11:32 AM
i would get a letter or something formal in writing from your school having them waive those fees or that it was wrongly billed and take that to the collections agency.

japslapsilvia
02-18-2009, 12:35 PM
i would get a letter or something formal in writing from your school having them waive those fees or that it was wrongly billed and take that to the collections agency.

sorry maybe i wasnt too clear, my account isnt at a 3rd party collectors office, its in a "collection status" at the school.

basically its me against the school, or the schools parking office.

MomentumGT
02-18-2009, 12:41 PM