PDA

View Full Version : where do i get my sr20?

krapz
02-15-2009, 12:29 AM
I'm a jdm rookie in the San Fernando Valley and i just bought a 91' 240sx and I dont really know where to get started as to buying an SR20det. I looked online and I found a bunch of places but nowhere local. I'm trying to stay local and get the best deal on an SR20 if at all possible. Also is it hard to do the swap myself? I'm on a college budget but I have big dreams for my 240 and i know it all starts with an SR20 so i'd appreciate any feedback, pointers, guidanace...etc. thanks in advance.

Ithical
02-15-2009, 12:33 AM
you should read the rules and research more. Illegal activities are not allowed here.

brndck
02-15-2009, 01:43 AM
I'm a jdm rookie in the San Fernando Valley and i just bought a 91' 240sx and I dont really know where to get started as to buying an SR20det. I looked online and I found a bunch of places but nowhere local. I'm trying to stay local and get the best deal on an SR20 if at all possible. Also is it hard to do the swap myself? I'm on a college budget but I have big dreams for my 240 and i know it all starts with an SR20 so i'd appreciate any feedback, pointers, guidanace...etc. thanks in advance.

my .02 is get all of your suspension stuff upgraded before you go for power upgrades.

but. the swap is not terribly difficult if you are mechanically inclined and have patience. if you can barely change your oil i wouldn't recommend trying this swap. the wiring can be challenging, but there are quite a few sites (like frsport) that have detailed write-ups.

you are INCORRECT when you state that "it all starts with an sr20". it starts with a BALANCED approach to tuning. upgrade in stages. if you upgrade power, also upgrade braking and suspension at the same time to match.

you should read the rules and research more. Illegal activities are not allowed here.