PDA

View Full Version : is it just me or.........?

tnord
01-19-2003, 04:39 PM
is it just me or are there an alarming number of people who seem to buy any, and i do mean ANY 240 they can get their hands on without really checking the car out. i say this because i have noticed a lot of threads that go something like this

"hi i'm a neWB and i just bought a 240, it's mAd tYtE yO! way better than those ass dragging civics. anyway, i have such and such problem but i don't know what's causing it. please tell me what the answer is, but i don't want an expensive answer cause i don't have much $$$."

well then einstein, maybe you shoulda had that problem checked out BEFORE you bought the car. and even if you didn't notice it then, perhaps you should have the car checked before you buy it, because it is used ya know.

people are dumb.

fodive
01-19-2003, 04:41 PM
agreed

Kid Zelda
01-19-2003, 04:48 PM
Well, for most S13's, since the car can be 10-14 years old , a lot of parts need to be replaced, some peopledo not take that into account when buying the car.

I've replaced MANY parts on my S13. it adds up $$$ .
When buying a used car, expect to replace parts.

DSC
01-19-2003, 04:49 PM
Most of these guys sound like they still live with their parents (not knocking, i do too) so what I don't understand is why they didn't get any advice from them or from their friends about how to buy a car.

I posted here, talked to friends and my parents about the car. Then took it to a personally trusted mechanic to have it inspected. Then, I bought it. I should have run the VIN too but didn't because it was in such good shape.

AKADriver
01-19-2003, 05:02 PM
When I bought my S13 it came with a stack of maintenance records from the previous owner. No worries there. This car is a mechanical creampuff.