PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on your local Economy

s13dan
08-28-2008, 12:56 PM
This is a very divearse group of ppl on this forum, so i was wondering what everyones thoughts were on their local economy. Are you (or you business) doing good, bad or whatever. Personally, my balls hurt. I cant find a better job, or the one i have been trained to do. Im having trouble selling cars, and never have before. I am more broke than i ever have been before. I see more people looking for jobs than ever before in my town. The help wanted section is the smallest i have ever seen it in my life time, week after week. Whats it like in your area?

stiizy
08-28-2008, 01:09 PM
It's kinda slow depending on what you do here but I'm an accountant there's always work......

Only Medical and Construction seem to be laying off...

HyperTek
08-28-2008, 01:23 PM
i cant find a decent job, i wouldnt mind goin back to school but feel i cant afford it. i worry about gettin jacked for my car if i go to school because the economy failed others to where they got to steal cars.

but i think its getting better. gas prices went down some.

ronmcdon
08-28-2008, 01:35 PM
I live in the Los Angeles area. Live in Beverly Hills/West LA. Work in Downtown LA. Amazingly it is pretty good here. The company I work for is has been doing great this year, and will be for the next. I even got a raise earlier this year, thankfully although it doesn't really keep up with the increasing cost of gas and food. we do basic plus-size lingerie. I'd imagine ppl still need to buy under-wear even if they have less disposable income. I think some industries will be hit harder than others.

People seem to be spending $$$ just the same. many restaurants are crowded on weekdays. clubs are still packed. traffic is still heavy on the weekends. honestly, i see little difference on the surface of things. I also see a lot more tourists from europe and asia, probably b/c of the weaker dollar.