PDA

View Full Version : an ode to d.i.y.ers'

driftphenom
06-02-2008, 11:51 AM
ok first off i aqquired this car for $750 dolla bites. it was my sisters, an suv backed into her in a parking lot while she was behind it. the ball hitch punched into the front, right into the grille pushing back the upper radiator support, destroying all the lights and the hood, the hood no longer shut, and the ins. co. totaled it. that was 2 years ago. fast forward to now, i finally get around to doing something with it. i am NOT a mechanic, i thought the whole support would have to be replaced, thus i had alredy taken out radiator, ac condensor, fan etc. i.e. it didnt run. well i got to talkin with some guy guy at the bar one night about it, and he said " aw naw man, just get a rubber mallet and beat it into submission" sounded kinda brutal, but i thought what the hell, whats the worst that could happen. so i go out there one day and start bangin away, when i realized "this might just work". so i finally got the hood to close and latch, but it was still all muffed up from where the crumple zone bent. so i put the car back together and fired it up............

begining of major problem 1.
the car fired up first try, but there was a devestatingly loud tick, rattle, idk, something fierce. i remembered that it had made that sound before, but went away after a while, so i drove it around the block a couple times, and it seemed to run fine. i let it idle in the drive way about 5 min or so and when i came back out....... uh oh- HUGE puddle of oil under the car. literally spraying from somewhere. this was my sisters car, but she let her husband drive it (he put oil in it when it wouldnt start). apparently he put so much oil in it that it blew the main seal int the front, and rather than get it fixed he just continued to put more oil in it every week for god knows how long. so you can use your imagination to how much oil is sprayed/ caked on the engine bay.