PDA

View Full Version : Guitar people!

1ZlowZ
05-28-2008, 12:19 AM
Hey whats up, recently started playing the guitar like 5 min ago! I wonder if anyone has been playing the guitar for a while now. How much practice and stuff it took you to get to where you're at. I'll start off with what I can do so far and how long it took me... I can play the intro to Iron Man, it took me 2 min to understand tabs and such frets, chords, and tuning and stuff. Not fully understanding it but getting there. About 2 min to try and sound out the Iron Man intro. Sounds sweet, didn't know my fingers can make such noise. =]

If you can post a video of what you can do.

EDz s14
05-28-2008, 12:47 AM
Hey nice to hear that someone is playing guitar on this forum. Ive been playing guitar for almost 4 years now and I play mostly my own songs that I made. First time learning to play a song is fun, but it gets boring over the years until you can make your own song that sounds good. keep playing and it will clear up on how to play the guitar. Im glad you played Iron Man and not other shitty music. By the way what kind of guitar do you have?

LongGrain
05-28-2008, 12:55 AM
been playing for 5 years, i love it. I play a black SG

words of advice. dont just learn with tabs. you should really learn to read music, get some books and stuff. learn your scales and everything and you'll be able to see shapes and patterns in your playing. it really helps when you want to make up your own stuff, and if you play by ear and all that neat stuff.

i didnt do any of that, i taught myself to play using tabs. i can recreate almost any song, but when it comes to making my own songs, i suck... i want to take lessons or something to actually learn how to PLAY instead of just copying.

Dousan_PG
05-28-2008, 12:56 AM
learn scales
i paly on and off
but i suck
its just for fun
i hav ea epiphone lp w/ sd alinico pickups
and a ibanez semi hollow body
had a jackson but sold it to a buddy

anyways its for fun i like playing.