PDA

View Full Version : Give me your advice

mymymys13
04-24-2008, 01:44 AM
This question has been bugging me through out the day. Ive seen a lot of amazing/breath taking builds of cars on here. what i dont get is how these people/you learned about and how to build the amazing machinery that you love and call yours? As much as i stare at my car and try to fix the small problems it has im ALWAYS left with a blank stare and i usually end up paying other people to fix the problems (as much as i hate it). im new in the 240/car scene.
What advice do you have?
how did you learn?

Next semister ima sign up at trade tech for their automtive program.
i want to learn everything everything everything everything and anything that has to do with cars.

SC_S13
04-24-2008, 01:57 AM
Well, there's basically a billion ways to go at it.
However, I've personally heard more so than not that auto tech schools are a waste of time and money. I've never heard of Trade Tech, but theres bad voodoo going around about the UTI and others.

FSMs, read-ups, help from more knowledgeable friends....that's just the tip of the iceberg buddy.

The biggest step is getting tools and just going balls out on your car. Definitely an investment that should not be taken lightly, and expect to have many headaches and obstacles. Not everyone is as talented as Newman haha. Most of the builders on here either have lots of hands-on experience or a background in mechanical engineering + more hands on exp (ie. Newman).

Could always intern at a shop? Hope this helps.
And to the haters: yes, i do want to have copious amounts of sex with Newman :-P

oh, and you might want to ask a mod to move this to chat.

mymymys13
04-24-2008, 02:09 AM