PDA

View Full Version : living in japan?

EJ253
10-31-2007, 02:45 PM
hi,
before i start, i searched and read quite a bit.

so i'm currently a freshman at the university of utah majoring in photography and graphic design, and im starting to learn japanese. i think i will do well because im very interested in it. im beginning to learn the culture but i still dont know very much.

after college i have to find somewhere to live. and i'm comfortable with moving a far distance away. but i want to research places before i pick somewhere. so far i've looked at japan and new zealand.

i know i sound like a fanboy, but i would really like to be involved with working at a racetrack or on drift cars, or at a parts shop. it seems like japan would be the place to go. i was told i should live on the mainland if i want to go to tracks and stuff like that. are people nice to americans over there?

-can anyone give me some advice to help me figure out where i would want to live?
-are the cops uptight about speeding/traffic violations? what about having modified cars on the street?

anything to help me get started would be great. :)

thanks,
Greg

S13SilviaGirl
10-31-2007, 03:34 PM
Greg,

First off, in order to live in Japan you have to basically have a work visa or a REASON to be here. They arent like america where you can just go sit for a few years and not be hassled. If you are gonna be a college graduate, look into teaching. NOVA and a few others. OR join the military or get a US Govt job that is based over here.

Tokyo Metro area is the best place for what you are wanting. Are they nice to us? Some yes, some no. It is touchy. The closer you are to Tokyo the less they want to do with you. The further out in the "sticks" you are they seem to be more interested and want to learn from you.

Cops are hella laid back. You speed the cameras send you a ticket. Now, if you arent wearing your seatbelt...they are hella crazy with that shit. Also, it is EXPENSIVE to live here.