PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here a Biology Major or in the Healthcare industry?

dannyboi
08-03-2006, 10:38 PM
I graduated 2 months ago with a BS in Biology with a Concentration in Biotechnology and a Minor in Chemistry. I wanted to work full time for about a year then try to get into a MS for nursing. I started looking for jobs about 2 weeks ago.

Now, i was wondering what some Bio majors are doing for a job/career. My biotech concentration gives me more of an edge since i've worked w/DNA and did a bunch of techniques like PCR/immunoBlots/etc which employers demand. I've contacted those temp agencies but most jobs are Chem related (which i prefer not to get into... i luv biology).

I applied at hospitals to work as a research assistant, but most of the jobs require "1-3 years clinical research experience or clinical monitoring" How am i supposed to get my foot in the door if they mostly require experience?

Any input is appreciated. :hug:

TurDz
08-03-2006, 10:51 PM
I am in the same situation as you, except I am a mechanical engineer.

One important thing to do, while you are searching for your job, is to NETWORK, NETWORK, NETWORK. This can be attending meetings or seminars on the lastest technologies or findings of your field. This is also getting in contact with the employees of a company you want to work for. Attempt to contact at least 5-10 and try to arrange a coffee break with them so you can ask them for advice.

BOROSUN
08-03-2006, 10:59 PM
its going to be difficult without exp to get in. but, if you got some hook up or connection its only way. sometimes.

dannyboi
08-04-2006, 09:17 AM
I am in the same situation as you, except I am a mechanical engineer.