PDA

View Full Version : SAFC fixed idle?

NA4NOW
03-28-2006, 07:50 PM
I have a s13 w/ a sr20det. Im pretty new to these engines.

Ive had a rough idle since I bought the car. It runs fine other than that, .....very strong, and smooth. Now, ....it doesnt miss all the time.

First off, when I start it in the morning, I have to hold it at about 2000rpms to keep it running, for about the first 15 seconds or so. After that, it idles on its own, but has an intermediate miss, that goes away once you give a little gas.The previous owner said it had a leaky injector, that was dumping fuel at idle, giving it a little miss.

I pulled the rail, and there were no leaks. I also put a timing light on it (w/ the tps unplugged) and it was about 10 degrees off (was about 1/4 in. past the last mark), so I set it at 15. I also cleaned my MAF (z32), but none of this helped the idle.

So, I sat in the car and started playing w/ my safc. I increased the fuel @1000 rpms by 25%, and now my cars idles/runs perfect!!!!!

Now, I know this is just a quick fix, and something still has to be off, or not right. The rest of the settings are untouched (zeroed out) on the safc. My question is, can my increased fuel, at idle, have any ill effects on my engine? Also, what else should I check, to solve my problem correctly?

BTW, My engine is stock, besides a t28, z32 maf, fmic, safc.

Jordan

thejester03
03-28-2006, 07:59 PM
TPS out of adj? mine was and it made it idle like poo...

NA4NOW
03-28-2006, 08:26 PM
I havent checked the tps it yet, ...thats a good idea, though. Do you, or someone, have a fsm they could send me?

I have new set of 550 cc injectors. I dont want to install them yet, untill I can make it idle right, using the factory injectors and no fuel correction. There is definately a small problem somewhere.

Still, ....Could running 25% fuel correction, at idle hurt anything besides maybe foul plugs.

Jordan

drifter808
03-28-2006, 09:28 PM